• NEW! LOWEST RATES EVER -- SUPPORT THE SHOW AND ENJOY THE VERY BEST PREMIUM PARACAST EXPERIENCE! Welcome to The Paracast+, eight years young! For a low subscription fee, you can download the ad-free version of The Paracast and the exclusive, member-only, After The Paracast bonus podcast, featuring color commentary, exclusive interviews, the continuation of interviews that began on the main episode of The Paracast. We also offer lifetime memberships! Flash! Take advantage of our lowest rates ever! Act now! It's easier than ever to susbcribe! You can sign up right here!

Subscribe to The Paracast Newsletter!

Flat Earth: What flying an aircraft would be like

Squirrel

Paranormal Maven
Prompted by recent flat Earth discussion
on various radio shows, as a pilot myself,
I wondered how it would be to fly an
aircraft above a disk-shaped planet.

As can be seen in the illustration posted
below, gravity TILTS as one moves away
from the center, and near the "rim" (aka
the South Pole) gravity is tilted rather
steeply.

(That image is oversimplified; actually
the tilt would be less than shown, but
still quite noticeable.)

What does this mean for a pilot who
wants to fly "straight and level?"

It means the aircraft must be kept in a
BANK (lateral tilt) so the wings are at
right angles to the tilted gravity.

This would NOT require holding or
trimming aileron pressure (lateral
pressure on the stick or yoke.)

The aircraft, when trimmed properly
neutral ("centered needle and ball"
for pilots,) would naturally fly in a
banked position without any tendency
to slip or turn.

But the sight picture from inside the
aircraft would sure look weird!

This is yet another item of proof that
Earth is NOT a disk-shaped flat planet.

-- Squirrel (see image below)

gravity-on-flat-earth.jpg

Flat earthers cannot believe in gravity. The problem is that gravity is not a matter of faith.